Monthly Archives: October 2013

Lakewood Team M.E.D.S. Wins a National HRSA Award

PSPC pic 1 (2)The federal agency HRSA (Health Resources and Services Administration), an arm of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (Health Resources and Services Administration), has given a national award to Team M.E.D.S. of OHI (Ocean Health Initiatives), a federally qualified health care center, with locations in Lakewood, Toms River, and Manahawkin.

Team M.E.D.S. (Medication, Education, Drugs, Safety) under the leadership of OHI pharmacist Vijay Vohra received the Gold Team Leadership award as part of the PSPC (Patient Safety and Clinical Pharmacy Services Collaborative) for its work in helping to improve the health, safety, care and management of high risk, high cost, complex patients, suffering from multiple chronic health conditions, such as diabetes, asthma, hypertension and high cholesterol, among others.

The ultimate goal of Team M.E.D.S., which began participating in PSPC in 2008, is to help patients achieve improvement in their health outcomes and to focus on medication safety and management, making sure medications are being prescribed appropriately and safely.

Out of the more than 300 teams that participate in PSPC, OHIs team was one of five that received the Gold Team Leadership award. PSPC is a national effort to improve the quality of care delivered in the United States through the integration of health care providers and primary care services with clinical pharmacy services.

Dr. Theresa Berger, CEO of OHI, said, HRSA continually expands its expectations of the goals and clinical outcomes for PSPC teams. Our goal is to get the patients healthy and instill a desire for healthy living and self management.

The members of OHIs Team M.E.D.S. include pharmacist Vijay Vohra, pharmacist and team leader; Israel Arroyo, chronic care coordinator; Dr. Gilbert Fleisher, chief medical officer; Diane Klimik, RN, director of nursing; Dr. Shira Meyer; Dr. Kristyn Phelps; Rosemary Faughnan, RN; Lynn Walker, RN; Mary Washington, LPN; Bob La Forge, director of infomatics; Dr. Theresa Berger, CEO and president of OHI; and Hannah Maldony, chief compliance officer and PSPC coach.